Honda & Tangen Awardees for 2023

Thursday, May 4, 2023

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Scholarship Winners!

Paul S. Honda Scholarship Recipients:

The late Paul S. Honda, a distinguished member of PAAC’s Senior Advisory Council, established an endowment for this scholarship fund to promote Asian Studies and International Studies in higher education.  Every academic year, four $1,000 scholarships are given in his name to graduating seniors who have demonstrated a desire to pursue Asian Studies, International Affairs, or a related field at the post-secondary level, and have been actively involved in PAAC.   

Sherry Jiang, Kealakehe High School

Sherry will further her education by studying abroad in Germany through the U.S. State Department CBYX Scholarship Program, in pursuit of working in International Affairs. Read more here.

Brandon Keola L.C. Lehano, Punahou School

Brandon will attend Texas Christian University and pursue a degree in International Relations. Read more here.

Annabelle Rogers, Kalaheo High School

Annabelle will  attend George Washington University, Walsh School of Foreign Service. Read more here.

Larrianne Joy Sanchez, King Kekaulike High School

Larrianne will attend the University of Portland in pursuit of nursing and global health studies. Read more here.

Eddie Tangen Award Recipients:

The legacy of Eddie Tangen, a pioneer in the development of Hawaiʻi’s labor movement and past member of PAAC’s Board of Governors, is honored with a $300 award given yearly in his name to one student in grade 9, 10, or 11 who has demonstrated interest in international affairs and is actively involved in PAAC.

Sophia Findley, Junior

Hawaii Technology Academy in Waipahu, Oʻahu



Claire Masquida, Junior

Kealakehe High School, Kona, Hawaiʻi